Being ‘Flex-itarian’ – Sweet & Spicy Orange Salmon Recipe

My regular and subscribed readers know that I’m usually posting superfood raw vegan recipes, which I personally love, and believe should be a great base for a healthy lifestyle; consuming a mostly plant-based diet.

When people ask me what I would call myself, my husband and I both respond in saying that we are ‘Flex-itarian’. Our belief system is that everyone’s body is different, people respond differently to different foods. There are many different reasons for choosing a particular diet, religious and moral reasons, eating for your blood type, etc. The truth of the matter is, we should always listen to our bodies… just do what feels good, and feels right.

I myself eat mostly superfoods, with a strong basis in plant-based vegan-ism. It simply feels good to me, I always have more energy when I’m juicing and eating smoothies and nutrient-packed salads. Lately I’ve noticed that when I am eating 100% raw vegan, that I can become a bit anaemic, lacking B-vitamins and Iron necessary for building strong muscles and healthy blood. These can come from a number of different sources, but sometimes I just need a little bit of meat. Even if it is a splurge once per month, or a bite of my husband’s steak out at dinner with friends, my body lets me know when it needs a little extra, and most importantly, I listen to it.

This recipe is one of my mother’s favourites to make. She passed it along to me to share with my husband’s family this week, and now I’m sharing it with you… It’s a truly delicious take on baked fish!

What you’ll need for the marinade:

  • Two whole oranges
  • 3 cloves of garlic
  • One small handful of fresh rosemary
  • 2 Tbsp. honey
  • 1/2 tsp. smoked paprika (more or less to taste)
  • Crushed red pepper flakes (to taste)

Zest the rind of one orange, and mix together with finely minced garlic, chopped rosemary, honey, and other spices. Juice the zested orange and add juice into the mixture. To create a really beautiful presentation, take the second orange, slice it in half. Juice one half and add it to the marinade. Stir together and pour over the fish in a deep baking dish.

Take the remaining half of the orange and slice it very thin. After pouring the marinade over your fish, add the slices to your baking dish. It will not only add a bit of colour and flare to your dish, but will also act as a protective basting layer to keep your fish succulent and juicy.

Bake at 350°F / 180°C until just about done. For the last few minutes, you can turn on the broiler to give it a nice crisp browning on the edges.

I made this dish with garlic sautéed kale and quinoa for a truly delicious, nutrient-packed meal!

Enjoy! xx

Leave a comment